RULES AND REGULATIONS for the award of the Robert J. Glushko Prize for the Most Outstanding Undergraduate and MA Thesis in Cognitive Science

Robert J. Glushko Undergraduate and MA Thesis Prize in Cognitive Science

1. The prize for the most outstanding thesis in cognitive science, hereafter referred to as the Prize, funded by Professor Robert Glushko, is awarded annually by the University of Warsaw Teaching and Learning Council in the fields of studies of Cognitive Science of the first and second cycle.

2. The Prize is awarded in two categories:

a. for the most outstanding undergraduate thesis

b. for the most outstanding MA thesis

3. Graduates of Bachelor's and Master's degree programmes in Cognitive Science at the University of Warsaw as well as other University degree programmes are eligible to apply for the Prize, provided that the Prize Committee (cf. §10) considers that their thesis falls within the subject area of Cognitive Science.

4. The Prize is of a scientific prize nature, i.e. the only criterion for its award is the value of the thesis as a distinguished scientific dissertation. Consideration is given first and foremost to substantive qualities of the thesis as well as to the ones indicating a high level of competence in preparing a scientific paper.

5. The Prize amount is PLN 2,000 and cannot be divided - in a given year only one Prize is awarded in each category and always in the full amount.

6. Applications for the Prize should be submitted to the Prize Committee by 15 October each year. Applications should be sent to the email addresses provided on the websites of the Bachelor's and Master's degree programmes in Cognitive Science.

7. Applications should include a justification briefly describing the substantive value of the paper submitted for the Prize. The thesis should be attached to the application.

8. Applications for the Prize can only concern individuals who satisfy the following two conditions:

- a. passed their diploma examination in the academic year preceding the year of application for the Prize (and in the first year of the prize awarding, 2024/25, were enrolled in their final year of studies in the academic year 2023/24)
- b. have obtained very good or excellent grades in both reviews of their thesis.

9. In special instances, the Teaching and Learning Council may admit applications from persons who do not satisfy the condition stipulated in item 8a.

10. The Teaching and Learning Council shall appoint a Prize Committee for the duration of its term of office, which will be responsible for receiving (para. 6) and conducting preliminary evaluation (paras. 3 and 8) of applications and recommending to the council the decisions described in paras. 3 and 9.

- 11. Applications for the Prize may be submitted by:
 - a. graduates who are authors of the submitted papers
 - b. reviewers of the submitted papers
 - c. supervisors of the submitted papers
- 12. Each applicant may submit only one proposal.

13. Each year, the Prize Committee shall appoint a Prize Jury, which shall assess the applications.

14. The Jury shall be composed of at least three persons, each of whom must be eligible to act as a thesis supervisor. The members of the Jury may not be persons who have supervised the papers submitted for the Prize in a given competition.

15. The Jury sets its own working rules, respecting the provisions of the present Rules and Regulations. The Jury may appoint additional experts with a view to obtaining their opinions.

16. A decision on awarding the Prize should be made before 20 December each year. The Prize Jury shall present the report to the Teaching and Learning Council specifying the authors and titles of the prize-winning papers, or alternatively the report together with a reasoned statement that the Prize will not be awarded in a given year. The Jury's verdict shall be final. Once the final minutes have been submitted to the Council, the Jury shall dissolve.

17. The Teaching and Learning Council decides on the manner in which the Prize will be awarded.

Magdalena Błaszczyk; University of Warsaw

Electronically signed by Magdalena Błaszczyk; University of Warsaw Date: 2024.07.03 10:32:12 +02'00'